Bowls Canada Logo Bowls Canada Boulingrin
FacebookLinked InTwitterYoutube Flickr

backBack to News Releases


Canadian Junior Champions Crowned

Posted date: August 09, 2013



The junior portion of the 2013 Canadian Junior event has now wrapped up.  Both sides featured some amazing shots and many of the matches came down to the wire or an extra end to decide the winners.

This year’s field featured a diverse mix of players from across the country, with players coming from British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and the host province New Brunswick.


After the round robin portion on the Men’s side, Lucas Caldwell playing out of the Peterborough Lawn Bowling Club took first place in Pool A with Rob Law of Manitoba taking the second spot.   In Pool B, Braedon Campbell of Nova Scotia took the top spot while Grayden Wood of Ontario took second place.


In the Semi Finals, Caldwell defeated Wood in straight sets (13-3 and 9-5) to move onto the final.  Campbell defeated Law (5-7, 9-1 and 3-1) in a match that went into a tiebreaker and came down to the last bowl.


In the final, Lucas Caldwell defeated Breaden Campbell (13-0, 5-5) to capture the 2013 Men’s Junior Title.   In the Bronze Medal game, Grayden Wood defeated Rob Law (14-3, 6-5).


On the Women’s side it was just as close, Priscilla Westlake of British Columbia was the round robin leader followed closely by Stirling Wood of Ontario.  These two would square off for the Gold Medal. Rounding out the top four were Nicole LeBlanc of Ontario and Jordan Kos of Saskatchewan, who would play off for the Bronze Medal.   Jordan recently competed in the inaugural Canadian Singles event that was held in Regina.


In the Gold Medal Match, Westlake defeated Wood in straight sets (11-4, 15-1) to capture the 2013 Canadian Junior Woman’s Championship.  Nicole LeBlanc defeated Jordan Kos in a third set tiebreaker (7-2, 3-9, 5-1) to capture the Bronze.


Here is the final list of finalist:


GOLD- Lucas Caldwell (ONT)

SILVER- Braedon Campbell (NS)
BRONZE- Grayden Wood (ONT)
- Rob Law (MAN)


GOLD- Priscilla Westlake (BC)
SILVER- Stirling Wood (ONT)
BRONZE- Nicole LeBlanc (ONT)
- Jordan Kos (SASK)