Indoor Champions Crowned

Posted date: November 10, 2013

The 2013 Indoor Singles Championship has concluded and history has been made.  For the first time in 10 years we have a repeat winner.  Ontario’s

Kelly McKerihen has won back to back titles after defeating Saskatchewan’s Jean Roney (4-10,11-1,3-1) in a game that was one of the most competitive of the championship.

Kelly becomes only the fourth woman to win back to back titles joining Sue Smith (1998-1999), Lynn McElroy (2000-2001) and Leanne Chinery (2003-2004).

In the Bronze medal game, Belle Chan defeated fellow BC team member Jenny Siu in straight sets (11-2,8-4).

On the Men’s side, the round robin finished with Vince Mai atop the standings.  He translated that into the final as well defeating defending champion

Pat Bird in the Gold Medal game in straight sets (9-6,8-7) to capture the title.  Mai was at or the near the top of the standings all week.

Mai last won the Indoor Championship in 2009.  Bird was looking to continue a string of successful Men’s champions after Geoff Perschick of BC last did it in 2011 and 2012.

The Men’s Bronze medal game, as in the Women’s side saw an all BC match-up.  It featured Tim Mason taking on Michael Leong. Mason proved to be too much again as he defeated Leong in straight sets (10-6,13-1).  The two played each other in Round 7 of the round robin which Mason won in three sets (4-11,8-5,2-1).

With the win, McKerihen and Mai will now represent Canada at the 2014 World Cup in Warilla.  Congratulations to both of you.

For full results and complete standings, please head over to the Indoor Singles page…