New Faces Welcomed to Bowls Canada Boulingrin’s Board of Directors

Ottawa, ON | October 1, 2019

Bowls Canada Boulingrin is pleased to announce the new Board of Directors for 2019-2020:


Ian Howard

Vice President

Kathryn MacGregor (re-elected for a two-year term)


Steve Moors (re-elected for a two-year term)


Lorane Martin (elected for a one year term)


David Llewellyn


Jeff Harding (re-elected for a two-year term)


Anne Mathewson (elected for a two-year term)


Don Caswell (elected for a two-year term)


Ivo Van Bastelaere (re-elected for a one-year term)


Cathy Selzler (elected for a one year term)

This skills-based Board features several new faces, as well as several returning ones.

Familiar Faces

Lorane Martin will move from Director to Secretary for the 2019-2020 year to replace Jennifer MacDonald.  MacDonald served the board since 2016 and recently stepped down to pursue an international work exchange program.  “We are very grateful to Jennifer”, said President Ian Howard.  “She has been an invaluable board member and while we wish her well on her new adventures, we will miss her innovative enthusiasm and analytical problem solving approach”

Jeff Harding and Ivo van Bastelaere will resume their positions on the Board, having already each served a two-year term.  Kathryn MacGregor and Steve Moors each stepped into their respective positions last year mid-way through a two-year term.  Both are eager to put their skills and learnings from the last year to work for the next two years.

New Board members

Don Caswell has been involved with BCB in numerous roles over the years, from member of the LTAD committee, member and Chair of the National Team Committee, to most recently as the Chair of the High Performance Committee. Don is also currently the treasurer at his local club, the Windsor Lawn Bowling Club. A retired Healthcare Professional with expertise in business and program development, Don has a proven track record as a leader and consensus builder. 

Anne Mathewson, current president of the Nutana Lawn Bowling Club, has over 20 years’ experience on numerous different Boards, including founding the Richmond Hill Ladies Recreational Softball League and serving as its president for five years. Specifically within bowls, Anne was the treasurer of the 2015 Canadian Junior and Under 25 Championship Host Organizing Committee, and more recently was the chair of the 2019 Canadian Mixed Pairs Championship Host Organizing Committee.  Professionally, Anne has long been recognized as one of Canada’s most experienced and knowledgeable waste management specialists.  Anne has been on the front lines of driving change for recycling programs across Canada and is a well-respected negotiator and change catalyst. 

Cathy Selzler has numerous years of experience serving on Boards as well, ranging from secretary of the West Point Grey LBC in 2012, to secretary of Bowls Alberta in 2018. Selzler was also the Head Event Umpire at the 2018 Canadian Senior Triples Championships. A gifted athlete, Selzler competed for the University of Calgary in Tennis before finding her groove with bowls.  With a reputation for getting things done, Selzler is looking forward to applying her creative skills and solution finding acumen to help implement Bowls Canada’s new strategic plan.    

“I am pleased to welcome Don, Anne and Cathy to the Bowls Canada Board of Directors”, said President Ian Howard. “Their skill sets complement the experience of the returning Board members and I am confident that together we will continue to realize our vision of Bringing Canadians Together Through Bowls.”

For more information, please contact: 
Anna Mees, Executive Director, Bowls Canada Boulingrin

About Bowls Canada Boulingrin
Bowls Canada Boulingrin (BCB) is the governing body responsible for lawn bowls in Canada.  The BCB mission is to advance the sport of bowls in Canada.  For more details on Bowls Canada Boulingrin and the sport of lawn bowls, visit