Bowls Canada Boulingrin welcomes new board members

Ottawa, ON | October 10th 2018

The 2018-19 slate of directors was confirmed at the Bowls Canada Annual General Meeting on September 23, 2018.  All positions were elected by the members (Provincial Bowls Associations) who were represented by their Presidents or official designates. 

Members said goodbye to President David Calam (Regina, SK) and Director Alan Dean (Aurora, ON) as both completed their terms on the Board.  “I truly enjoyed my time as President”, said Calam. “I was privileged to work with a passionate and talented group of Directors during my tenure and am excited for what the organization will continue to achieve over the next two years.” 

Ian Howard of Burlington Ontario was elected to a two-year term as President. Howard previously served on the Bowls Canada board in the roles of Director and Vice-President.  Howard brings a passion and drive to the organization and is looking immediately to continue Calam’s work on strategic planning.  “It is my fervent hope that this great game will thrive as bowlers across Canada work to embrace the ideals, goals and strategies which BCB has continuously articulated. The growth of bowls in Canada has reached an exciting point in time, with enthusiasm at all levels of playing at all ages. Esprit de bowls/Boulingrin is alive and doing well and I look forward to ensuring this is captured in the 2019-2022 Strategic Plan.”

Incumbent Jennifer MacDonald (Calgary, Alberta) will resume her role as Secretary for another two-year term and fellow Calgarian Kathryn MacGregor will transition from her Director role to fill the remaining one-year of the Vice President term (formerly held by Ian Howard). 

Newcomers Steve Moors (Montreal, QC) and David Llewellyn (Stouffville, ON) were elected to the positions of Treasurer and Director-at-Large respectively.  Moors brings a strong and long background in corporate finance as well as many years of volunteer board experience at various levels.  Llewellyn offers a wealth of lawn bowls leadership from his involvement in both Canada and around the world.
“On behalf of the organization, I express my sincere gratitude for the service and dedication of both David and Alan”, said Executive Director Anna Mees.  “While it is always sad to say good bye to those whose terms are completed, I am excited by the broad scope of talent and experience within the 2018-19 Board.  I believe that with their leadership, the organization will continue to grow and evolve.”

2018-19 Bowls Canada Directors
President                  Ian Howard (Ontario)
Vice-President        Kathryn MacGregor (Alberta)
Secretary                  Jennifer MacDonald (Alberta)
Treasurer                  Steve Moors (Quebec)
Director                     Ivo van Bastelaere (British Columbia)
Director                     Jeff Harding (Ontario)
Director                     David Llewellyn (Ontario)
Director                     Lorane Martin (British Columbia)

For more information, please contact: 
Matthew Nafe, Operations and Communications Coordinator, Bowls Canada Boulingrin 

About Bowls Canada Boulingrin
Bowls Canada Boulingrin (BCB) is the governing body responsible for lawn bowls in Canada.  The BCB mission is to advance the sport of bowls in Canada.  For more details on Bowls Canada Boulingrin and the sport of lawn bowls, visit