Bowls Canada Boulingrin Announces National Squads

Ottawa, ON. | January 31, 2017

Bowls Canada Boulingrin (BCB) is pleased to announce the selection of the 2017-18 Senior and Development Squads. Athletes from across Canada applied to be selected to only seven spots on each of the men’s and women’s senior squads.  “The smaller squad numbers will allow for more opportunities for the athletes to play together and develop the solid playing relationship required for international success. However, it definitely made for an extremely tough selection process.”  said High Performance Chairperson Don Caswell. He went on to say that BCB is committed to the principles of high performance and the players understand the challenges and hard work required to compete at the top level of international play.

These squads are in place for the next two competitive seasons.

Ryan Bester of Hanover, Ontario, 2016 World Bowls Silver medalist, will once again lead the men’s national Senior Squad.  Veterans Chris and Ryan Stadnyk will also return to the squad for another cycle. 

Dropped from the squad in 2015, Greg Wilson makes a come back after spending the last two years honing his game and perfecting his skills.  New to this Senior Squad are Michael Pituley, Cameron Lefresne and Kody Olthof.  Both Pituley and Lefresne are making the transition from the Development Squad to the Senior Squad, while Olthof’s highly successful performance at the 2016 North American Challenge showed he deserved a spot on the squad.

2016 World Bowls Bronze medalist Kelly McKerihen and her World Bowls teammates Leanne Chinery, Shirley Fitzpatrick-Wong, Jacqueline Foster, and Pricilla Westlake all retain their positions on the Senior Squad.  Jordan Kos (Regina, Saskatchewan) joins Pituley and Lefresne in transitioning from the Development to Senior Squad. Rounding out the Squad is Calgary’s Joanna Cooper. Cooper made her international debut at the 2016 North American Challenge where both she and Kos demonstrated that they were ready to perform as members of Canada’s Senior Squad.

Men’s Senior Squad

Women’s Senior Squad

Ryan Bester (Hanover, ON)
Cameron Lefresne (Enfield, NS)
Kody Olthof (Delhi, ON)
Michael Pituley (Regina, SK)
Chris Stadnyk (Niagara Falls, ON)
Ryan Stadnyk (Niagara Falls, ON)
Greg Wilson (Cochrane, AB)

Leanne Chinery (Auckland, NZ)
Joanna Cooper (Calgary, AB)
Shirley Fitzpatrick-Wong (Winnipeg, MB)
Jacqueline Foster (Bridgetown, NS)
Jordan Kos (Regina, SK)
Kelly McKerihen (Toronto, ON)
Pricilla Westlake (Delta, BC)

The Development Squad is part of the Bowls Canada athlete development pathway and as such focuses on those athletes who are in the earlier stages of their high performance career. It provides an opportunity to introduce up and coming talent to the structure and demands of a high performance environment.  “It is great to see three athletes make the jump from Development Squad to Senior Squad this year”, stated Bowls Canada Executive Director Anna Mees.  “Preparing athletes to make this transition is one of the primary goals of the Development Squad program”.

Men’s Development Squad

Women’s Development Squad

Lucas Caldwell (Peterborough, ON)
Rob Law (Winnipeg, MB)
David-James Smith (Montreal, QC)
Grant Wilkie (Saskatoon, SK)

Emma Boyd (Delta, BC)
Nicole LeBlanc (Uxbridge, ON)
Baylee van Steijn (Gore’s Landing, ON)
Carah Webster (Victoria, BC)

“We would like to acknowledge the service and commitment of previous squad athletes who were not selected,” said Caswell. “We also acknowledge those who removed themselves from the selection process and wish them the very best with this next phase of their lives.”

For more information, please contact:
Anna Mees
Executive Director, Bowls Canada Boulingrin

About Bowls Canada Boulingrin     
Bowls Canada Boulingrin (BCB) is the governing body responsible for lawn bowls in Canada.  The BCB mission is to advance the sport of bowls in Canada.  For more details on Bowls Canada Boulingrin and the sport of lawn bowls, visit