Bowls Canada Boulingrin Announces New Senior Squad

Ottawa, ON | October 18th, 2022

Bowls Canada Boulingrin is pleased to announce the 2022-2023 Senior National Squad!

On the men’s side, experienced players and Commonwealth Games teammates return to the national squad ensuring a continuity of teamwork and consistency on the international greens. Most notably, Ryan Bester, John Bezear, Rob Law and Cameron Lefresne are all fresh off the 2022 Commonwealth Games where they achieved top five finishes in Singles and Fours. Braeden Campbell also returns to the Senior Squad for this year.  Amidst the returning familiar faces is some new and exciting talent. Owen Kirby, 2022 U25 Champion, and Brandon Watson both moved up from the National Development Squad and newcomer David Llewellyn will round out the squad this year. 

The women’s team also welcomes back veteran players Emma Boyd, Leanne Chinery, Joanna Cooper, Jackie Foster (2022 Women’s Fours Gold Medalist), Jordan Kos (2022 Women’s Singles Gold Medalist), Kelly McKerihen and Baylee vanSteijn.  Jennifer MacDonald will also join the Senior Squad after a three-year stint on the National Development Squad.   This is a squad with numerous internationals throughout their careers and they are looking to capitalize on their experience in preparation for 2023 World Bowls Championships.

The squad was selected based on a set criteria which considered skills, tactics, experience and performance and then balanced with positional fit.  The selection process was open to all and those who applied were invited to attend one of three evaluation opportunities.  Additionally, national selectors were present at events such as the Commonwealth Games, Canadian Lawn Bowls Championships (Pairs, Fours and Singles) and Canadian Youth Championships.

The National Squad is supported by the Government of Canada through Sport Canada Funding and supplemented by squad members through contribution fees for events and programs.

Below is the full roster list:

Women’s Senior Squad 

Men’s Senior Squad

Boyd, Emma (Delta BC)
Tsawwassen Bowls Club (BC)

Bester, Ryan (Hanover, ON)
Hanover LBC / Broadbeach Bowls Club (AUS)

Chinery, Leanne (Victoria, BC)
Windsor LBC / Taren Point Bowling Club (AUS)

Bezear, John (Kitchener, ON)  
Heritage Greens LBC

Cooper, Joanna (Calgary, AB)
Stanley Park LBC, Calgary Lawn Bowling Club, North East Valley Bowling Club (Dunedin, NZ)

Campbell, Braeden (Paradise, NS)
Bridgetown LBC

Foster, Jacqueline (Bridgetown, NS)
Bridgetown LBC

Kirby, Owen (Kitchener, ON)  
Heritage Greens LBC

Kos, Jordan (Regina, SK)
Regina LBC

Law, Rob (Winnipeg, MB)
Norwood LBC & Calgary LBC

MacDonald, Jennifer (Calgary, AB)                              Calgary LBC

Lefresne, Cameron (Enfield, NS)
Wanderers LBC

McKerihen, Kelly (Toronto, ON)
Port Credit LBC / Clayton Bowls Club (AUS)

Llewellyn, David (ON)                                                              Cosburn Park LBC

vanSteijn, Baylee (Gore’s Landing, ON)
Cobourg LBC

Watson, Brandon (Regina, SK)  
Regina LBC


About Bowls Canada Boulingrin
Bowls Canada Boulingrin (BCB) is the governing body responsible for lawn bowls in Canada.  The BCB mission is to advance the sport of bowls in Canada.  For more details on Bowls Canada Boulingrin and the sport of lawn bowls, visit